Climate : Bhutan‘s climate and temperatures vary with change in elevation. Subtropical valleys in the southern plains and foothills offer thick forest, alpine forest in temperate zones in central foothills and snow capped mountains in the Himalayan summits.

Bhutan is generally dry during spring starting March till May. Wet and green during summers, commencing mid-June with occasional showers and continues through the pre-monsoon rains until late June. Summer monsoon lasts from late June through mid-August with heavy rains from the southwest. Autumn, from early September to late November, follows beautiful weather with season flowers which are seen everywhere. It is characterized by bright, sunny days and some early snowfalls at higher elevations. From late November until February, winter sets in, with dry and brown frost throughout much of the country and snowfall common above elevations of 3000m (9,843 ft).

Geography : Bhutan is bordered with Tibet Autonomous Region to the north, Republic of India, Sikkim to the west, West Bengal to the south, Assam to the south east and Arunachal Pradesh to the east. Bhutan is divided into 20 districts (Dzongkhags) namely, Thimphu, Gasa, Punakha, Wangdue, Trongsa, Zhemgang, Bumthang, Mongar, Lhuntse, Trashi Yangtse, Trashigang, Samdrup Jongkhar, Pema Gatshel, Tsirang, Dagana, Sarpang, Chukkha, Samtse, Paro & Haa.

Geographic Coordinates: 
27⁰ 30’N, 90⁰30’E

Total Area:

Land boundaries:
1075km (668 miles)

Countries Bordered: 
China 470km (292 miles)
India 605km (376 miles)

Highest point:
Mt. Jumolhari 7314m
Lowest point: Drangme Chu 97m